When users are logged in, faculty or web administrators, there is a link on the left menu to File Uploads. This is a kind of storage area and one that we should be careful when using. Being that this is a storage area, much like the attic in your house, people tend to forget that things are in there. People will often delete their link but not the document, which leads to no one using the content in the File Uploads area. And these "things" will count against our storage limit and if no body is using them then there isn't much sense in them being there.
A better tool to use is the Resources/News tool. When this tool is deleted so are the documents that are linked up, that is why this is a better tool. The Resources/News tool also handles creating the link automatically and replacing a document is as simple as uploading the new one and the link will be updated automatically. Here is a bit about the Resources/News tool.
The File Uploads tool could be used when one document is going to be used in multiple areas/pages. The problem here is that when the document is deleted the links still remain and we now have broken links.
So please use caution when using the File Uploads area.